The Women’s Prize for Playwriting

The Women’s Prize for Playwriting is the very first playwriting prize open only to British and Irish women, with the aim of redressing the imbalance in the number of plays by women produced on major stages in the UK and Ireland.

The prize is co-produced by EKP and Paines Plough  in association with Sonia Friedman Productions and was launched at the National Theatre in November 2019. The first prize is £12,000.

The official publishing partner of the prize is Samuel French, a Concord Theatricals company. 

The judging panel for the 2020 prize is Monica Dolan, Sarah Frankcom, Tanika Gupta, Ella Hickson, Mel Kenyon (Chair), Kate Pakenham, Maxine Peake, and Indhu Rubasingham. 

Submissions close on 2 March 2020. The winner will be announced in June 2020. Visit The Women’s Prize for Playwriting website.

Read about the 2020 longlist.  Read Founder Ellie Keel’s latest interview on The Women’s Prize for Playwriting.